The FIP feels it is of utmost importance to support and recognize individuals who, through their vision and commitment to their profession, are making outstanding contributions to the fields of podiatric practice. As such, each year FIP-IFP honors those who have demonstrated commendable work and dedication in areas which parallel the overall FIP mission.

The FIP awards should be submitted 30 days before the AGM to the President and the Executive Director with a letter of support and the 2020 FIP-IFP Awards – criteria and nomination. All applications will be reviewed by the FIP-IFP Executive Board.

Three recognitions can be awarded:

• the FIP-IFP Lifetime Achievement Award,

• the FIP-IFP Distinguished Service Award 

• the FIP-IFP Humanitarian Award.

FIP-IFP Lifetime Achievement Award


1997 Robert Van Lith

2003 José Roofthooft

2005 Margrét Jónsdóttir

2005 Ronald Lepow

2007 & 2013 Bob Hardy, Clarks Shoes

2008 Phillipe Laurent

2009 Joseph Addante and David Ashcroft

2016 Robert Chelin (CA)

2017 Stuart Baird

2019 Jose García Mostazo

2020 Matt Garoufalis and Serge Coimbra

2021 Vincent Hetherington and Christian Jérôme.




The 2017 President Matthew G Garoufalis delivers an FIP-IFP Lifetime Achievement Award to Stuart Baird, who just retired after an amazing career as Professor and Dean of Podiatric Medicine at Glasgow Caledonian University.


FIP-IFP Distinguished Service Award


2005 Serge Coimbra, Gerard Mayne and Margaret Jonsdottier

2008 Phillipe Laurent

2013 Robert Chelin

2016 Joseph Caporusso

2018 Dr. Haemels Carine  as FIP president (2014-2016)

2019 Matt G. Garoufalis

2020 Edith Dürrenberger, Minna Stolt, Ekaterini Kalykakis, 

Caroline Teugels

2021 Pauline Wilson, Carles Vergés Salas, David Dunning

FIP-IFP Humanitarian Award


2004 Yves Manneback & Christophe Jacobs (BE) (MWV)

2008 Special Olympics International

2009 Vicki Anton Athens (USA) (Guatemala)

2010 Margreet Van Putten (NL) (Bosnia)

2011 Kristen Larsen (DK) (Palestine)

2013 Dr. Patricia Nicholas (USA) (Haiti)

2014 Patrick Deheer (USA)

2016 Dr. Greta Dereymaeker (BE)

2018 SOI Humanitarian Award 2004 Medics without vacation

2018 Dr. Patrick Nunan  for his work on Special Olympics International as a Global clinical adviser

Certificate of Appreciation for those who served the Federation

2018 Christine Kuberka-Wiese

2015 Heidi Corcoran and Mona Boysen

2016 Joanna Brown (SOCAP)

2017 Neil Simonite (SOCAP)





2008 SOI Humanitarian Award




2004 Medics without vacation



José Roofthooft received an award for establishing the ICTPM former Groupe de Reflection comité de la FIP en 1985 under the Presidency of Mr. Emonet (Fr).